Skip to main content

A61.14: Library Committee


The Library Committee meets regularly to address issues and make recommendations related to the university libraries' policies, budgets and other issues in so far as they impact the teaching, research and service responsibilities of the faculty, and the studies of undergraduate and graduate students. The role of the Committee is also to facilitate communication among libraries and between libraries and faculties of the university. The issues that the Committee will address may be generated by the Committee itself or may be brought to the Committee by any faculty, student or library staff member. Recommendations by the Committee will be made to the Faculty Senate and, when appropriate, to the relevant deans, library directors and vice-presidents. Advice and consultation on library issues will be sought from the library faculty and staff. The chairperson of the Library Committee shall make an annual report to the Faculty Senate reviewing its major activities, including a list of recommended actions. A copy of this report will be sent, for informational purposes, to the Provost/Vice-President for Academic Affairs, the Vice-President for the Health Sciences, the Dean of the Law School, the Dean of the University Libraries, the Director of the Health Sciences Center Library, and the Directors of the various branch campuses.


One member from each of the following groupings:

Anderson Schools, Economics, and Public Administration
Fine Arts and Architecture
University Libraries
Nursing and Pharmacy
UNM branch campuses
Law School

Two members from each of the following groupings:

Natural Sciences2
School of Medicine
Social Sciences3
Undergraduate Students (to be appointed by the Associated Students of UNM (ASUNM)
Graduate Students (to be appointed by the Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA)

Ex 0fficio:

Dean of the University Libraries
Director of the Health Sciences Center Library
Director of the Law Library

1) English, Foreign Languages & Literatures, History, Linguistics, Philosophy, Spanish and Portuguese.
2) Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology.
3) American Studies, Anthropology, Communication and Journalism, Geography, Political Science, Sociology, Speech and Hearing Sciences, Community and Regional Planning.

The terms of each office shall be for three years set up on a staggered basis. The chairperson is elected by the Committee. The terms of office of students will be determined by the ASUNM and the GPSA.

Office of the University Secretary
MSC05 3340
Scholes Hall, 103
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: (505) 277-4664

Linking to the Handbook

Handbook PDF