Skip to main content

A61.18: Teaching Enhancement Committee


The purpose of the Teaching Enhancement Committee shall be to encourage and support quality teaching and its funding as the primary role of the University of New Mexico, including all its established units. The TEC will in no way infringe upon the academic freedom of faculty members in searching for and imparting knowledge. The functions of the committee shall include, but not be limited to: initiating, formulating and recommending policies regarding teaching resources, support staff and faculties; recommending University policy regarding the granting of awards and stipends for outstanding teaching and scholarly achievements; oversee selection of Presidential Teaching Fellow and Teacher of the Year Awards and future University teaching honors; awarding funds to be used as incentives to enhance teaching methods and curriculum development through the Teaching Allocations Subcommittee; reviewing and recommending the use of contemporary and developing tools for teaching quality and productivity; serve as an advisory committee to the Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Teaching and Learning (CASTL); evaluating, formulating and recommending policy concerning teaching support services provided by computer facilities, libraries, media services, and other support organizations; developing and recommending a plan for the institution of an annual lecture by an outstanding teacher and the procedure for selection; meeting formally with the Deans' Council and the Senate Operations Committee at least once each year to discuss current problems and exchange information concerning teaching.

(Eleven faculty members, including a member from a branch campus, appointed by the Faculty Senate; one graduate student appointed by the Graduate Professional Student Association (GPSA); one undergraduate student appointed by the Associated Students of UNM (ASUNM). The Provost, the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, and the Director of CASTL shall be ex officio members of the committee. The terms of office shall be three years set up on a staggered basis, and the committee members shall elect the chair.)

Office of the University Secretary
MSC05 3340
Scholes Hall, 103
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: (505) 277-4664

Linking to the Handbook

Handbook PDF