Skip to content

A65.2: Research Allocations Committee

Approved by: Faculty Senate
Effective: April 28, 2020
Responsible Faculty Committee: Research Allocations
Office Responsible for Administration: Office of the University Secretary

Revisions to the Policy Rationale, Policy Statement, and Applicability sections of this document must be approved by the full Faculty Senate.

Policy Rationale

The Research Allocations Committee (RAC) is one of four (4) committees that comprise the Faculty Senate Research and Creative Works Council, which is charged with oversight of the research and creative endeavors of the University of New Mexico (UNM), both funded and unfunded creative works. The primary mission of the RAC funding is to support the career development of faculty (research and creative works) who are in various stages of career development, but priority will be given to faculty who are: 1) in the early stage of their careers, 2) embarking upon new directions, or 3) in fields and disciplines where there is limited funding.

The RAC supervises and allocates the Faculty Research Fund. This policy document provides policies and the procedures for grant application, approval, acceptance, and administration. It also defines the structure and composition of RAC.

Policy Statement

RAC receives requests from faculty members for grants-in-aid, determines faculty eligibility for grants from the fund and the amount of such grants, and appraises the merits of proposed research projects as well as the productivity of the applicants.

RAC shall communicate and meet with the Vice President for Research or designee. The Committee shall formally meet periodically during fall and spring semesters to discuss the availability and allocation of funds.

Committee Membership

Twelve (12) members appointed by the Faculty Senate; of these twelve (12), at least one (1) shall be selected from each of the following seven (7) areas:

  1. Physical Sciences--chemistry, earth and planetary, mathematics and statistics, physics and astronomy.
  2. Life Sciences--biology, psychology.
  3. Social Sciences--anthropology, "business and administrative sciences", economics, geography, history, law, political science, sociology.
  4. Engineering--all departments of the School of Engineering.
  5. Education--all departments of the College of Education and Human Sciences.
  6. Humanities--architecture, English, journalism, foreign languages and literatures, Spanish and Portuguese, philosophy, communication.
  7. Fine Arts--all departments of the College of Fine Arts.

The term of office for faculty members shall be two (2) years, set up on a staggered basis so that the terms of approximately one-half (1/2) of members will expire each year. Committee members may be elected to a second two-year term. At least one (1) year must pass before a Committee member who has served two (2) consecutive two-year terms is again eligible to serve. At the last meeting each year, the Committee shall elect a chair from the eligible membership. The Chair shall remain active through the summer session. The Chair or a designated representative shall convene the initial meeting of the new committee.


All UNM faculty, including the Health Sciences Center and Branch Community Colleges.

Revisions to the remaining sections of this document may be amended with the approval of the Faculty Senate Policy Committee and Operations Committee in consultation with the responsible Faculty Senate Committee listed in Policy Heading.


No specific definitions are required for the Policy Statement.

Who should read this policy

  • Academic chairs, directors, and deans
  • Non-academic managers and directors
  • Vice presidents and other executives

Related Documents

Faculty Handbook:


Direct any questions about this policy to the UNM Office of the University Secretary.


The Research Allocations Committee (RAC) will schedule regular meetings. The Committee Chair will report Committee recommendations through the Research and Creative Works Council for consideration by the Faculty Senate.


  • April 28, 2020 - Approved by the Faculty Senate
  • March 29, 2011 - Approved by Faculty Senate