Skip to content

Policy abolished

This policy has been abolished. See the revision log for more information.

A61.13: Intellectual Property Committee


(abolished 4-23-13)

The Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) was established as an official, standing Faculty Senate committee. The initial Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) was formulated by the Administration, through the Vice Provost for Research. The purpose of the Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) is to provide faculty oversight of intellectual property management by the University and the Science and Technology Center. It makes recommendations about pursuit of intellectual property protection and about commercialization of UNM intellectual property. It adjudicates and mediates intellectual property rights.

(The Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) shall comprise on faculty representative from each College, including the University Libraries, and two faculty representatives from among the Level II and Level III centers that report to the Vice Provost for Research. The Vice Provost for Research, the Vice-President for Health Sciences, the Patent Administrator, and the President of the Science and Technology Center, or their designees respectively, are non-voting members ex-office. At all times, the Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) shall include at least three faculty members who are creators of Technology Works.) The term if each office shall be for three years set up on a staggered basis. The chairperson is elected by the Committee.)